Pages

Thursday, 8 January 2015

Smith claims didn't see Starc's in-your-face send-off post dismissing Vijay in SCG Test

Australia Test team captain Steven Smith has claimed that he did not see paceman Mitchell Starc's in-your-face celebration after dismissing India's opener Murali Vijay on the second day of the SCG Test, but has insisted that he is not a fan of the concept.



A fired-up Starc claimed Vijay's wicket with the third ball of India's first innings during the second day's play in the fourth and final Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground, removing the opener caught behind. The bowler then charged to within a metre of the batsman and roared his delight.

Smith claimed that he didn't see what Starc did, adding that he was busy celebrating himself. He pointed out that the umpire never said anything and he doesn't see any issue there at this stage, News.com.au reported.

However, Smith admitted that he was not a supporter of the send-off, saying that he doesn't think it's a good part of the game to send batters off. He claimed that it's not a part of the game that needs to go ahead.

The skipper insisted that he is sure their players would stay pretty calm when they get wickets from now on. (ANI)

No comments :

Post a Comment