Sunday, 3 February 2013

Sachin Tendulkar re-instated as Mumbai Indians' captain for IPL6

Sachin Tendulkar is re-instated as the skipper of Mumbai Indians for the IPL 6, which starts on April 3 2013, after Harbhajan Singh quit the captaincy to concentrate more on his bowling.
Sachin was the captain of Mumbai Indians for the first four seasons of the IPL since its inaugural year 2008 and led his team to the final in 2010. Harbhajan took over the captaincy in 2011 after Sachin handed over the reins to the offspinner. Harbhajan led his team to victory in the Champions League T20 in the same year and went on to captained the side in IPL 5 as well.

IPL 6 auction: The full list of sold and unsold players

Australian allrounder Glenn Maxwell was the biggest earner at the IPL 2013 auction here on Sunday, attracting a price tag of $1million from Mumbai Indians. The other big winners were Ajantha Mendis ($725,000), Kane Richardson ($700,000), Abhishek Nayar and Thisara Perera ($675,000), Chris Morris and Sachitra Senanayake ($625,000) and (Dirk Nannes ($600,000).
Current and former Australia captains Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke were bought for their base prices of $400,000 by Mumbai Indians and Pune Warriors India respectively.

IPL 6: Millionaire Glenn Maxwell emerges the richest from auction

he Australian allrounder Glenn Maxwell emerged the biggest buy at the 2013 IPL auction in Chennai, fetching a whopping bid of $1 million from Mumbai Indians, but the biggest surprises were the low-key pair of Chris Morris and Sachitra Senanayake bagging $625,000 each and rookie fast bowler Kane Richardson being valued at $700,000. It was a big day of spending, with $11.89 million spent on 37 of 101 players in less than five hours of bidding.