Thursday, 14 March 2013

Australia vs India: First day's play of Mohali Test washed out

 The first day's play of the fourth Test between India and Australia that was to be played at the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) grounds in Mohali from today, was washed out due to incessant rain.

The decision to abandon the day's play was taken a little after 1 p.m. by Umpires Richard Kettleborough and Aleem Dar.

Australia announced their squad for the test, which included all of their available specialist bowlers in order to have any chance of staying alive in the series.

Off-spinning all-rounder Gleen Maxwell was dropped for the Test. Off-spinner Nathan Lyon and Left-arm spinner Xavier Doherty will form a dual spin attack, with Peter Siddle and Mitchell Starc as the frontline fast bowlers, who will be supported by the pace-bowling allrounder Moises Henriques.

Coach Mickey Arthur said Maxwell was competing with Henriques for a place in the Mohali Test and the selectors decided that a three-man pace attack with two specialist spinners provided the best chance of the victory Australia needed to make the series 2-1.

Brad Haddin was also named for his first Test since January last year. He will replace Mathew Wade, who sprained his ankle while playing basketball on Saturday.

Wade struggled in wicketkeeping, fielding and running drills at training on Wednesday and was visibly uncomfortable on his right ankle.

Haddin's Sheffield Shield form this summer has been strong, having scored 468 runs at the average of 52, including two centuries.

For India, the only change announced is that of Shikhar Dhawan, who comes in place of axed Virender Sehwag. The final eleven of the home side is yet to be announced.

India squad

M S Dhoni (captain-wicketkeeper), R Ashwin, S Dhawan, A B Dinda, Harbhajan Singh, R A Jadeja, V Kohli, B Kumar, P P Ojha, C A Pujara, A M Rahane, I Sharma, S R Tendulkar and M Vijay.

Australia squad

M J Clarke (captain), E J M Cowan, X J Doherty, B J Haddin (wicketkeeper), M C Henriques, P J Hughes, N M Lyon,P M Siddle, S P D Smith, M A Starc, D A Warner. (ANI)

No comments :

Post a Comment