Monday, 4 February 2013

Michael Clarke wins Allan Border Medal, Test batsman award

Australian captain Michael Clarke's stunning batting in 2012 proved impossible to ignore and he duly won the Allan Border Medal and Australia's Test Player of the Year award in Melbourne on Sunday. It was the second year in a row that Clarke claimed the top two awards in Australian cricket.

After scoring 1080 runs at 77.14 during the voting period from February 25, 2012 to January 28 this year the awards were impossible not to win for Clarke. He took the Allan Border Medal with 198 votes to Shane Watson and Michael Hussey's joint 165 to become the second man after Ricky Ponting to win the prize four times. Clarke previous took home the award in 2005, 2009 and 2012.

Clarke was awarded his second Test Player of the Year award after finishing on 22 votes, with Hussey on 15 and Matthew Wade on 12. He was unstoppable in 2012, with consecutive double-centuries versus South Africa being the personal highlight for Clarke. The other top awards in Australian cricket were scooped by Shane Watson and Clint McKay. (CricketNext)

No comments :

Post a Comment