Tuesday, 1 January 2013

Virat Kohli only Indian cricketer named in 'Fairfax 2012 World Team of Year'

Virat Kohli is the only Indian cricketer to find a place in the final XI of Fairfax Media team of 2012.

Just four nations have been represented in the final XI of the team of 2012.

According to the Sydney Morning Herald, just one player from India, cricket's commercial and political heartland, has been selected, because of that country's slide into complacency when it comes to Test cricket.

South Africa's adaptable Faf du Plessis made the list for his end year surge against Australia in the recently concluded Test series.

Australia was not represented in 2011, but is a team on the up and has contributed three players in 2012, including Michael Clarke, who is at the peak of his powers.

In keeping with modern trends, the fast bowling attack has been picked from a platoon of pace men, with Vernon Philander on the fringe.

The other cricketers picked for the list include Alastair Cook, South Africa's Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, and Australian captain Michael Clarke, the first man picked, with three double centuries, an average of 106, and more runs in 2012 than any Australian has scored in a calendar year.

Other in the list include Mike Hussey, Matt Prior, Graeme Swann, Peter Siddle, Dale Steyn, Jimmy Anderson, and Rangana Herath as the 12th man. (ANI)