Wednesday, 19 December 2012

New Zealand start with win

Uncapped fast bowler Mitchell McClenaghan destroyed South Africa A's top order to get the New Zealand cricketers off to a winning start in a Twenty20 match at the City Oval on Tuesday.

New Zealand posted a modest 140 for seven after winning the toss and batting. The South African second stringers were soon in deep trouble at 23 for four before limping to 116 for nine to give the tourists a 24-run win.

The left-armed McClenaghan took three for 19, opening the bowling and sending down his full quota of four overs in a single spell. Left-arm spinner Ronnie Hira took three for 35.

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum hit 32 and Colin Munro made 39 as the Black Caps recovered from a poor start in which they lost their first three wickets for 44 runs in 7.5 overs.

McCullum hit five boundaries in his 38-ball innings, while the left-handed Munro slammed two sixes and four fours off 27 balls. Munro is one of five uncapped players in the New Zealand squad.

The first of three Twenty20 internationals is in Durban on Friday.

McClenaghan bowled Davy Jacobs and Stiaan van Zyl with his fourth and seventh deliveries and followed up by having Dane Vilas caught behind in his third over.

Vaughn van Jaarsveld was the only South Africa A batsman to shine, making a run-a-ball 43.

 Brief scores in a 12-a-side Twenty20 match between South Africa A and the touring New Zealanders at the City Oval on Tuesday:

New Zealand 140-7 in 20 overs (B. McCullum 32, C. Munro 39, N. McCullum 22 not out; K. Abbott 4-16).

South Africa A 116-9 in 20 overs (V. van Jaarsveld 43; M. McClenaghan 3-19, R. Hira 3-35).

Result: New Zealand won by 24 runs.

Toss: New Zealanders.


No comments :

Post a Comment